NAIT welcomes new chair and members to Board of Governors

Published on March 10, 2017

Ray Martin has been appointed chair of the NAIT Board of Governors by the Ministry of Advanced Education

Martin has had an extensive career in education including roles as a teacher, guidance counselor and administrator. Holding a Masters in Education, Martin helped shape the education system as an elected trustee of the Edmonton Public School Board. He also brings experience and understanding of government, leadership and transformational change. As a former leader of Alberta’s New Democratic Party and the Official Opposition, he helped create and guide policy, with significant contributions to education. He spent 15 years as an elected member of the Alberta Legislature.

Martin replaces Brent Hesje whose three-year term as chair recently ended. The Board of Governors is responsible for managing and operating the polytechnic in accordance with its mandate.

In addition to Martin’s appointment, NAIT welcomes four other new members to the Board of Governors:

Vi Becker
Becker is a management consultant with Stantec. Prior to starting her own management consulting business she was the vice-president of marketing and PR/communications for Stantec Consulting Ltd.

Yasmin Jivraj
Jivraj is an accomplished IT professional and entrepreneur. In 1987, she co-founded Atlas Systems Group and assumed the role of president (1988-2000). In 2000, Atlas Systems Group merged with CompCanada and formed Acrodex, a national supplier of information technology services and solutions. Jivraj was president of Acrodex from 2000 to 2016. She is a director with Dexcent.

Matthew Woodley
Woodley is a lawyer and partner with Edmonton-based Reynolds Mirth Richards and Farmer LLP, where he focuses on education, human resources, privacy, media, defamation and public law. He has represented clients before all of the Courts of Alberta and before the Supreme Court of Canada.

Mary Lynne Campbell
Campbell is the executive director/CEO of the Public School Boards’ Association of Alberta. She began her teaching career in Alberta at Elk Island Public School System. She was previously superintendent/CEO of schools for Parkland School Division.

Two current board members, Ray Pisani and Daryl Kruper, have each been reappointed for an additional three-year term.


Dr. Glenn Feltham, NAIT president and CEO
“NAIT is fortunate to have these accomplished individuals join our board. Together, we will continue to build this amazing institution and our province.”

Ray Martin, chair, NAIT Board of Governors
“I look forward to this challenge and believe NAIT is absolutely essential to the Province of Alberta. This polytechnic will play a major role in helping to diversify the economy.”

About NAIT

The Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT) is a leading Canadian polytechnic, delivering education in science, technology and the environment; business; health and trades. With nearly 60,000 credit and non-credit students and a 95 per cent employer satisfaction rate, NAIT grads are essential to Alberta’s prosperity. Known for hands-on, technology-based learning, NAIT engages with business and industry in applied research and innovation and provides corporate training around the world. Recognized as one of Alberta’s top employers, NAIT provides outstanding returns on investment for its graduates, partners, the provincial government and the people of Alberta.

Shopping Cart Quick View
Open Shopping Cart